Portrait of a Didgeridoo passionate…

Raphaël Didjaman was born in 1968. At first saxophonist and Deejay until the age of 27, it all tacked a day to go to Australia. On these original lands, he discovered the didgeridoo. Listening to aboriginal rites, he felt that this instrument would be at the heart of all the changes that would be in his life… It was in 1995.

Contact

Portrait of a Didgeridoo passionate…

He spent a year in Australia, in the outback, learning constantly, following the advice of players of great renown. Then he meets Alice LANGFORD, Ash DARGAN, David HUDSON and Mark ATKINS in Alice Springs… and these experiences will be decisive and will decide him to professionalize.

Since then, every year, he goes to Australia, improves with ever more rigor, and collects the precious eucalyptus woods that he will then work in his workshop to make authentic didgeridoos.

Respecting each wood, he works them so as to accentuate the acoustic characteristics, to make the sound purer, more toned, more suave and to vibrate the material without ever distorting it.

With a discography of more than 10 albums, 1 educational DVD, and many renowned artistic meetings (Symphonic and Philharmonic Orchestras, Actors, Directors, Singers, etc.), Raphaël has become an experienced player and a well-known luthier the happiness of all didgeridoo enthusiasts.

After the release of his first two musical albums “VIBRATIONS” and “TECHNOLODIDGE” in the 2000s, he founded in 2007 his own musical label TRIBAL ZIK RECORDS, highlighting the Didgeridoo in all its musical forms. This slogan will allow him to manage his own career and produce other artists like SCHAYE B, EEBUKLEY, ELJAHIZHED…

In 2007, he recorded in Australia the educational DVD “THE ESSENTIAL of DIDGERIDOO” which will allow him to settle in the world of professional musicians and music teachers.

2012 is a year when a real shift is made for Raphaël Didjaman, with the proposal of the great conductor ZAHIA ZOUANI who proposes to become the first official soloist in the OSD (Symphony Orchestra DIVERTIMENTO).

In 2019, his history and his personality make strong personalities of the CNRS and Muséum de Paris contact him to make an epic album named “JURASSIC SOUNDS”, released in May 2019, with the great and huge astrophysicist HUBERT REEVES and the paleontologist Jean-Sébastien STEYER.

Direct, straight and uncompromising, Raphaël Didjaman surfs the wave of honest and sincere meetings with feeling. Taboo and ambiguity are not his favorite dishes as he likes to say :

– ” I like simple and creative projects because it’s hard to be simple and go to the essentials nowadays ! That’s what I like in the didgeridoo. A simple piece of wood, but that scotche everyone when we hear what we can do today ! This 20 000 year old instrument mixes with classical music, Metal, Techno and Electro, Relaxation and Zen, Salsa, Reggae, Hip Hop… just with a tree trunk when you think about it… is it not that quite simple ?! “

Raphael Didjaman.

RAPHAËL DIDJAMAN

Didgeridoo Artist / Maker & Producer.

Portrait d’un passionné du Didgeridoo

Raphaël Didjaman est né en 1968. D’abord saxophoniste et Deejay jusqu’à l’âge de 27 ans, a tout plaqué un jour pour partir en Australie. Sur ces terres originelles, il a découvert le didgeridoo. A l‘écoute de rites aborigènes, il a senti que cet instrument serait au cœur de tous les changements que connaîtrait sa vie… C‘était en 1995.

Contact

Portrait d’un passionné du Didgeridoo…

Il passe un an en Australie, dans l’outback, apprenant sans cesse, suivant les conseils de joueurs de grande renommée. Puis il rencontre, à Alice Springs, Andrew LANGFORD, Ash DARGAN, David HUDSON, Mark ATKINS… et ces expériences seront décisives et le décidera à se professionnaliser.

Depuis, chaque année, il se rend en Australie, se perfectionne avec toujours plus de rigueur, et recueille les précieux bois d’eucalyptus qu’il travaillera ensuite dans son atelier pour en faire d’authentiques didgeridoos.

Respectant chaque bois, il les travaille de sorte à en accentuer les caractéristiques acoustiques, à rendre le son plus pur, plus tonique, plus suave et à faire vibrer la matière sans jamais la dénaturer.

Fort d’une discographie de 12 albums, 1 DVD pédagogique, et de nombreuses rencontres artistiques de renommées (Orchestres Symphonique et Philharmonique, Acteurs, Réalisateurs, Chanteurs etc.), Raphaël est devenu un joueur expérimenté et un artisan – luthier reconnu pour le bonheur de tous les passionnés de didgeridoo.

Après la sortie de ses 2 premiers albums musicaux « VIBRATIONS » et « TECHNOLODIDGE » dans les années 2000, il fonde en 2007 son propre label musical TRIBAL ZIK RECORDS, en mettant en avant le Didgeridoo sous toutes ses formes musicales. Ce mot d’ordre lui permettra de gérer sa propre carrière et de produire d’autres artistes comme SCHAYE B, EEBUKLEY, ELJAHIZHED…

En cette même année 2007, il enregistre en Australie le DVD pédagogique ” L’ESSENTIEL du DIDGERIDOO “ qui lui permettra de se fixer dans le monde des musiciens professionnels et des professeurs de musique.

2012 est une année où un réel virage est pris pour Raphaël Didjaman, avec la proposition de la grande cheffe d’orchestre ZAHIA ZOUANI qui lui propose de devenir le premier soliste officiel au sein de l’OSD (Orchestre Symphonique DIVERTIMENTO).

En 2019, son histoire et sa personnalité font que des fortes personnalités du CNRS et Muséum de Paris le contactent pour réaliser un album épique nommé ” JURASSIC SOUNDS “, sortie en Mai 2019, avec l’astrophysicien HUBERT REEVES et le paléontologue Jean-Sébastien STEYER.

Direct, droit et sans concession, Raphaël Didjaman surfe sur la vague des rencontres honnêtes et sincères. Le tabou et l’ambiguïté ne sont pas ses plats favoris comme il aime à le dire :

– « J’aime les projets simples et créatifs car c’est dur d’être simple et d’aller à l’essentiel de nos jours ! C’est ce que j’aime dans le didgeridoo. Un simple bout de bois, mais qui scotche tout le monde quand on entend ce qu’on peut en faire aujourd’hui ! Cet instrument vieux de 20 000 ans se mélange avec la musique classique, le Métal, la Techno et Electro, la Relaxation et le Zen, la Salsa, le Reggae, Hip Hop… juste avec un tronc d’arbre quand on y pense… c’est pas faire du simple ça ?! »

Raphaël Didjaman.

RAPHAËL DIDJAMAN

Didgeridoo Artist / Maker & Producer.

Photos entête et bas de page : Arié Elmaleh