When I was 16, 3 centuries ago so … lol, I was on a bus with a friend. He had told me about a friend of hers who knew how to breathe nonstop while playing his clarinet. He was trying to show me but he couldn’t remember how she was doing. Which makes me realize that it was the first time I was told about CIRCULAR BREATHING.

At that time, I flashed on the Saxophonist KENNY G (album “G FORCE” – funk) and I was told that he could play and keep a note endlessly, but at the time I didn’t realize the process and power of Circular Breathing !

Whereas today, when I see Didgeridoo players who think they are the only ones practicing Circular Breathing and hold a kind of special “Aura” like the Grail of wind instruments in their hands, I say to them: you guys and come back down to earth !… I explain why.

Yes Circular Breathing is a beautiful and main part of the basics of Didgeridoo when you start. No, Circular Breathing is not only practiced by these same players.

In this video opposite, you will therefore see the great Mister KENNY G make an incredible demonstration of Circular Breathing during a live enooorme… bravo KENNY !

Small parenthesis to also say that KENNY G was one of the first solo musicians in the world to be signed in 1982, on a major company like SONY COLUMBIA… and all thanks to the huge producer CLIVE DAVIS, renowned for being the gifted talent discoverers with among others : Janis Joplin, Bruce Springsteen, Simon & Garfunkel, Santana, Miles Davis, Billy Joel, Barry Manilow, Patti Smith, The Grateful Dead, Aretha Franklin, Whitney Houston, Sean Combs, Alicia Keys… nothing only that !!!

And while KENNY G released albums around the world as early as 1980 where he began to tease Circular Breathing… where were we western didgeridoos players with our legendary circular breathing ? Huh ? … The answer is simple : nowhere… nada… nothing ! We were playing with our droppings… simply because we were too young !

On the other hand, on the Indian Ocean side, in Australia, Aboriginal players have been playing didgeridoo for more than 20 000 years and practicing this famous Circular Breathing… magnificent !

You should know that the practice of Circular Breathing brings an incredible trance when one plays a long time of his instrument without stopping. And during this trance, several phenomena take place such as :

  • Start to see in negative and in black and white

  • Getting to the “Black-Out

The term “Black-Out” does not mean that we lose consciousness, but simply the fact that the player can no longer see anything while he has his eyes open while playing . And this phenomenon takes place only after 20 minutes of play without stopping. Personally I’ve had it many times already, and it’s just an incredibly beautiful experience because the sound is overwhelming and you are one with it. A kind of natural drug in short… but you must first practice for a few years before getting there ! This is what KENNY G explains very well in this video opposite…

Here is the video of a typical example of a natural trance due to Circular Respiration, with this radio broadcast from the Canadian COLIN STETSON to the Baritone Saxophone. Watch this video until the end please, because you will see COLIN stop playing and stagger just a few seconds before regaining control… the proof of the trance… magic !!!

The Trumpet player TROMBONE SHORTY also has great fun with his trumpet, such as JAMES CARTER, GEORGE COLEMAN, SONNY ROLLINS, JOHN ZORN, DAVID MURRAY, EVAN PARKER, JOHN SURMAN, JONAH PARZEN-JOHNSON, SAM NEWSOM, FEMI KUTI and  many more !

Our great French tubists and trumpeters FRANCOIS THUILLIER, MARC STECKAR and the great MEDERIC COLLIGNON are also talented professional players who have taken their instrument out of circuses and fanfares to put them at the top of the musical scale of Jazz while accepting that breathing circular was not a toy or an option, but a real technique for learning to breathe and learning to adapt your game for.

It would seem however that the jazz musicians hung more quickly than the musicians of classical music… this is perhaps due to the admiration that the “jazzers” for pure technique.

WYNTON MARSALIS has a lot of fun with circular breathing to the point that he will record the famous title “MOTO PERPETUO” by the Italian composer and violinist NICCOLO PAGANINI (1782-1840) … simply gigantic as a work!

Which leads me to admit that didgeridoo is a drug, a real one! We can play until we no longer know where it is and where we are… it’s too good when I think about it !

CONCLUSION :

Breathing allows us to continuously play our instrument… that, no doubt ! On the other hand, understanding that this technique can lead us to elevate ourselves spiritually requires unprecedented persistence ! Because we may be the best musical technician in the world… without soul we are nothing !

I did not have time to paint a picture of all the famous musicians who practice Circular Breathing. But if you have a few of them for us to discover, well I invite you with pleasure to share your favorites for those who made you dream! Put it all in the comments and I will add them as soon as possible… thank you !

Raphaël Didjaman.

Lorsque j’avais 16 ans, il y a 3 siècles donc… lol, j’étais un bus avec un ami. Il m’avait parlé d’une amie à lui qui savait souffler sans arrêt en jouant de sa clarinette. Il essayait de me montrer mais il ne se rappelait plus comment elle faisait. Ce qui me fait réaliser que c’était la première fois qu’on me parlait de le RESPIRATION CIRCULAIRE.

A cette époque-là, j’avais flashé sur le Saxophoniste KENNY G (album « G FORCE » – funk) et on m’avait dit qu’il pouvait jouer et tenir une note à l’infini, mais à l’époque je ne me rendais pas compte du processus et de la puissance de la Respiration Circulaire !

Alors qu’aujourd’hui, quand je vois des joueurs de Didgeridoo qui pensent être les seuls à pratiquer la Respiration Circulaire et détenir une sorte d’Aura spécial comme le Graal des instruments à vents dans leurs mains, je leur dis : « calmez-vous les gars et redescendez sur terre ! » … je vous explique pourquoi.

Oui la Respiration Circulaire est une belle et principale partie des bases du Didgeridoo quand on démarre. Non, la Respiration Circulaire n’est pas seulement pratiquée que par ces mêmes joueurs.

Dans cette vidéo ci-contre, vous allez donc voir le grand Mister KENNY G faire une incroyable démonstration de Respiration Circulaire lors de d’un énooorme live… bravo KENNY !

Petite parenthèse pour dire également que KENNY G a été l’un des premiers musiciens solo au monde à être signé en 1982, sur une major compagnie comme SONY COLUMBIA… et tout ça grâce à l’immense producteur CLIVE DAVIS, renommé pour être le surdoué des découvreurs de talents avec entre-autre : Janis Joplin, Bruce Springsteen, Simon & Garfunkel, Santana, Miles Davis, Billy Joel, Barry Manilow, Patti Smith, The Grateful Dead, Aretha Franklin, Whitney Houston, Sean Combs, Alicia Keys… rien que ça !!!

Et pendant que KENNY G sortait des albums à travers le monde dès 1980 où il commençait à taquiner la Respiration Circulaire… on était où nous les joueurs de didgeridoos occidentaux avec notre respiration circulaire légendaire ?  Hein ?  … La réponse est simple : nulle part… nada… rien ! On jouait avec nos crottes de nez… tout simplement car on était trop jeune !

En revanche du côté de l’Océan Indien, en Australie, cela fait depuis plus de 20 000 ans que les joueurs Aborigènes jouent le didgeridoo et la pratiquent cette fameuse Respiration Circulaire… magnifique !

Il faut savoir que la pratique de la Respiration Circulaire amène une transe incroyable quand on joue longtemps de son instrument sans s’arrêter. Et pendant cette transe, plusieurs phénomènes se mettent en place comme :

  • Commencer à voir en négatif et en noir et blanc

  • Arriver au « Black-Out »

Le terme « Black-Out » ne veut pas dire que l’on tombe dans les pommes ou qu’on perde connaissance, mais simplement le fait que le joueur ne voit plus rien alors qu’il a les yeux ouverts pendant qu’il joue. Et ce phénomène se met en place qu’au bout de 20 minutes de jeu sans s’arrêter. Personnellement je l’ai déjà vécu plusieurs fois, et c’est juste une expérience incroyablement belle car le son vous envahit et vous ne faites plus qu’un avec lui. Une sorte de drogue naturelle en somme… mais il faut d’abord pratiquer pendant quelques années avant d’en arriver là !  C’est ce qu’explique très bien KENNY G dans cette vidéo ci-contre…

Voici la vidéo d’un exemple typique de transe naturelle dû à la Respiration Circulaire, avec ce direct en radio du canadien COLIN STETSON au Saxophone Baryton. Regardez bien cette vidéo jusqu’au bout s’il vous plait, car vous y verrez COLIN s’arrêter de jouer et tituber juste quelques secondes avant de reprendre ses esprits en main… la preuve par 9 de la transe… magique !!!

Le trompettiste TROMBONE SHORTY s’amuse très bien aussi avec sa trompette, comme JAMES CARTER, GEORGE COLEMAN, SONNY ROLLINS, JOHN ZORN, DAVID MURRAY, EVAN PARKER, JOHN SURMAN, JONAH PARZEN-JOHNSON, SAM NEWSOM, FEMI KUTI et j’en passe pleins d’autres !  Nos grands artistes tubistes, trompettistes et flûtistes français  FRANCOIS THUILLIER, MARC STECKAR, DIDIER MALHERBE et l’immense MEDERIC COLLIGNON sont également des talentueux joueurs professionnels qui ont sorti leur instrument des cirques et fanfares pour les mettre en haut de l’échelle musicale du Jazz ou tout autre type de musique, tout en acceptant que la respiration circulaire n’était pas un jouet ni une option, mais une vraie technique pour réapprendre à respirer et apprendre à adapter son jeu pour.

Il semblerait toutefois que les musiciens de jazz aient accroché plus rapidement que les musiciens de musique classique… cela est peut-être dû à l’admiration qu’on les ” Jazzeux ” pour la technique pure.

WYNTON MARSALIS s’amuse beaucoup avec la respiration circulaire au point qu’il enregistrera le célèbre titre « MOTO PERPETUO » du compositeur Italien et violoniste NICCOLO PAGANINI (1782-1840)… tout simplement gigantesque comme oeuvre !

Ce qui m’amène à vous avouer que le didgeridoo est une drogue, une vraie !  On peut en jouer jusqu’à ne plus savoir où en est et où on se trouve… c’est trop bon quand j’y pense !

CONCLUSION :

La respiration permet de jouer en continue de notre instrument… ça, aucun doute !  Par contre, comprendre que cette technique peut nous amener à nous élever spirituellement demande une persévérance sans précédent !  Car on a beau être le meilleur technicien musical du monde… sans âme on n’est rien !

Je n’ai pas eu le temps de brosser un tableau de tous les musiciens connus qui pratiquent la Respiration Circulaire. Mais si vous en avez quelques-uns à nous faire découvrir, et bien je vous invite avec plaisir à partager vos coups de cœur pour ceux qui vous ont fait rêver !  Mettez tout ça dans les commentaires et je les ajouterai dès que possible… merci !

Raphaël Didjaman.